Food for thought – On Dating among other things.

Maitrayee Basu

Here’s the long and short of it – I have recently joined an internet dating site and started dating. I am not exactly sure what I was expecting, but it surely wasn’t this. You see, dating to me has always had a nice (read: idealistic) ring to it. I never understood people who were frustrated by it. To me, dating meant choice. And giddiness. A space where expectations and desires could be communicated safely and without the fear of judgement.

I was definitely not prepared for the ritualized three step programme it turned out to be in most cases. It being ritualized meant that people came to it with their own expectations of the space or the interaction which they often felt justified in imposing upon my body-space.

View original post 352 more words

Leave a Reply

